2021 Pursuit Race

2021 Results Pursuit Race

On water Reporters


In the event that Seashell does not compete then  Joy (1st Reserve) 

In the event that neither Seashell nor Joy compete then  Vento Novo (2nd Reserve)

All – please take photos and send them to  webmaster “at” PYRA.org.uk

see   https://www.pyra.org.uk/photographs-general/ 

PYRA Pursuit Race – Sunday 16th May 2021

Report: Team Joy

Nine teams braved the unfavourable forecast on Sunday 16th May for the annual PYRA Pursuit Race in Poole Bay. Torrential downpours greeted crews as they prepared their boats and set off out of the harbour in a stiff breeze. With the smaller boats nipping through the East Looe Channel those with deeper keels had a lively fetch out of the Swash seeing gusts of 30kts, though fortunately this was short lived and moderated to a more reasonable 20kts by the time all had convened in the start area.

Race Officer Matt Hitt set up in vicinity of The Rig Shop buoy, giving a short first beat to East Hook, and got the start sequence underway on schedule. First off at 10:34 was Skykomish, with a 10 minute head start before the flurry of Minstral, Shebeen, Mojito, Vento Novo and Ceres each setting off at one minute intervals. After another gap the faster yachts joined the fray, with Energy, The Grey Silkie and Joy who was last away at 10:59.

With the wind averaging between high teens and low 20s, and occasional gusts over 25kts, prudence kept spinnakers in the bag on the first reach. Several kites did make an appearance after bearing away onto a long run down to Bournemouth Outfall, with the fleet spreading out across a range of angles. Some took a more direct route and some less so… perhaps just being cautious, or maybe putting off the necessary gybe? The larger boats came storming through the fleet, with Joy overhauling all but one by the bottom of the run.

A beat back up to The Rig Shop saw the fleet continue to spread, generally with the larger boats prevailing in the conditions. A broad reach down to Jenkins Marine and back upwind again, for the leaders at least, towards Stoneways Marine ensured there was no question of the placings at the allotted 12:30 finish time… despite one nameless navigator nearly throwing it all away (shhh).

Huge thanks go to the Race Team from Poole YC led by Matt Hitt and ably assisted by Tim Lees and Deanna Walker, who ran the racing and stood by until the finish in an open RIB while enduring some pretty unpleasant conditions!

Final Results

1st        Joy                               JPK 1010

2nd      Energy                         Elan 333

3rd       The Grey Silkie           Hallberg Rassy 412

4th       Minstral                       MG C27

5th       Vento Novo                 Dehler 29

6th       Ceres                           Dehler 36CWS

7th       Mojito                          MG C27

8th       Shebeen                       Albin Ballad

9th       Skykomish                  Elizabethan 29


Race Instructions


Start Times

75 Years of PYRA

Copyright © 2008 - 2022 Poole Yacht Racing Association (PYRA). Sitemap