2018 VPRS Regatta

Poole Regatta

  • Show All
  • 2018 VPRS Regatta

Sailing Scenes Photos

for more go to Sailing Scenes photo gallery

The 2018 VPRS National Championships formed part of the International Paints Poole Regatta 218 over the long weekend 26th – 28th May.

19 boats over two classes enjoyed superb hospitality provided by the organising Clubs in Poole coupled with great racing in Poole Bay in glorious sunshine and very light winds.

VPRS One was absolutely dominated by Richard Powel racing his SB20 ‘Marvel’ with seven firsts only dropping back to 4th in one race won by Poole YC local Brendon Pell in his Dehler 29 ‘Vento Novo’.

‘Marvel’ being awarded the esteemed 1849 Canford Cup as the overall winner of the entire Regatta to go alongside the VPRS 1 National Championship. PYRA regular Mark Carey racing ’Zorra 3’ and Archambault A31 sailed a consistent regatta with a row of 2nds and 3rds putting him into a strong second place ahead of Ivor Graham & Brian Thompson’s Dehler ‘Deity’, National Champions in 2016 and 2017.

4th place overall secured by Ed Wilton’s First 31.7 ‘Tom Tit’ famed for his barbecuing but still pulling in an impressive score line not dropping below sixth in any race.

VPRS Two, racing on a separate course in Studland Bay was equally dominated by one boat, the MGC 27 ‘Rum Juggernaut’ raced to a perfect line of first places by Owain Peters of Poole Yacht Club.

The next three places were split by only one point, with PYRA devotees Clive and Theresa Lawrence deservedly picking up second place. Richard Valentine in his Beneteau ‘Mahu Hau Jotun Paints’ sharing points  with Keith Lovett’s Ecume de Mer ‘MS Amlin QT’ the Beneteau securing the third place on count back.

The VPRS Nationals now in its third year remains popular with boats representing no less than 6 Clubs racing.

Results VPRS1

Results VPRS2


75 Years of PYRA

Copyright © 2008 - 2022 Poole Yacht Racing Association (PYRA). Sitemap